Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (49)

Welcome to the Jungle review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:27 (A review of Welcome to the Jungle)


"This is our plan. We steal the god damn radio."
"And i drew the little guys there."


I have always been a fan of Jean-Claude Van Damme, and i have always thought he could be very funny in his movies so i'm a bit surprised that this is his first all out comedy performance. But i'm happy to report that he nailed it. In this cast of great comedians like Rob Huebel, Kristen Schaal and Eric Edelstein he actually managed to keep up with them and pretty much steal most of the scenes he were in. And it's not just a small part like i was afraid it was gonna be. He is pretty much in the entire film. But like i said, the cast is also filled with other great actors. Adam Brody is the main guy and he was really good. He really deserves more starring roles in movies. Or at least his on TV show. Overall, this was a really funny, but sometimes uneven movie. You can tell that it's directed by a first time director. It's definitely worth checking out on VOD. Even if you are not a Van Damme fan. But then again, you can't really be human if you're not.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Thor: The Dark World review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:26 (A review of Thor: The Dark World)


"Are you mad?"
"Possibly."


The first Thor movie was one of the biggest surprises for me when it comes to super hero movies because i didn't think that would work at all. The premise is so ludicrous that i could not believe they were actually making it. Thor was such an outdated super hero. But for some reason they actually made it work really well and it turned out to be one of my favorite super hero movies so i was very excited for this sequel after that. I sadly didn't get a chance to see this in the theaters, and after seeing it on blu-ray now i really wish i had. It was pretty damn great. I still like the first one a little better though.

But what i loved about this one was the fact that most of it took place on Asgard. I really loved seeing more of that world. All the characters from the first one are back and still great as well. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston as Thor and Loki really are two of the most perfectly cast super heroes ever. I really can't think of anyone else that could have played those character better. Natalie Portman is good as Jayne, but that character still isn't really giving her much to work with. It's the bland love interest character for the hero. At least they gave her something to do at the climax of the movie this time though.

What i didn't really like about the film this time was the villains. They were just really boring. I know it's hard to follow up a villain as iconic as Loki, but this was just bad. I don't even remember the main villains name in the film now and i just saw it. He is going behind Mickey Rourke in Iron Man 2 as the worst Marvel universe movie villain so far. But i thought the rest of the characters and dialogue worked so well that i'm willing to forgive that. This was still a damn enjoyable movie to watch and the second best super hero movie of 2013 behind Iron Man 3. And considering the last scene of this movie i really can't wait for Thor 3.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Messenger review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:25 (A review of The Messenger)


"Men are the ones that try harder to keep it together. They also can hurt you."

I always find movies about professions and people that i don't know that much about usually very interesting. I really felt that way about this film. The job that these people do, telling parents and spouses that their loved ones are dead on pretty much a daily basis, must be really tough. It's definitely not something i could do. Ben Foster and Woody Harrelson were absolutely fantastic in the lead roles. Especially Ben showing once again that he is one of Hollywood's most underrated actors. This is definitely the performance of his career so far. Samantha Morton were also great as the widow of a soldier that Ben Foster's character starts falling for after telling her about her husband. I thought that relationship in the movie was handled really good.

Steve Buscemi also had a really small role in the movie, basically just two scenes, but he also gave one of the best performances of his career here. Just the first scene he had where he is told about his son's death was one of the most jarring scenes i have seen in a while. That one is definitely sticking with me for a long time. But the movie is not all great. It does get a little too heavy handed at times and a few scenes just seems to go on forever. A few minor cuts here and there would have been good for it. It also had a pretty obvious plot line for Woody Harrelson. From the second he mentions that he is a recovering alcoholic you can pretty much guess where his story line is gonna go from there. It's a tired cliche to make the character a little sadder that the movie didn't really need. But overall it's definitely a movie worth seeing. Especially if you are still not convinced that Ben Foster is a great actor.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

2 Guns review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:24 (A review of 2 Guns)


"You never heard the saying, never rob a bank across from a diner with the best donuts in three counties?"

This was just a really fun movie. Nothing fantastically groundbreaking or anything, just a really good time. Denzel Washington and Marky Mark (i will never stor calling him that) looked like they had a blast together making this film and that really helped my enjoyment of the film. Nothing is worse than watching what is supposed to be a fun action movie and noticing that the main star hates being there. Like Bruce Willis in his latest action films. Denzel and Marky also had great chemistry together. You really believe these two could be best friends. Marky Mark was especially hilarious in his role here. Probably one of his funniest performances. The villains of this film were also really good. Especially Bill Paxton with a thick southern accent. He was really chewing the scenery and i loved it.

I did however feel the movie was a bit long at almost 2 hours. They probably could have cut a couple of minutes here and there and made it a bit tighter. It does really seem to drag in a few scenes. This is also one of the very few times i'm gonna complain about an action movie being rated R instead of PG-13. Apart from a brief nude scene and a few f-bombs here and there i really don't see why this had to be rated R. The violence is nothing worse than you see in an average PG-13 action film these days. I mean, if you are going for an R rating why not go all out in the action scenes as well? It just felt kind of pointless for what they ended up with in the movie. But this is still a very fun action film for an evening with some good friends and some cold beers.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Homefront review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:23 (A review of Homefront)


"Whatever you're thinking... re-think it."

This was one of the better Statham movies i have seen lately.Like i say every time i review one of his movie, i am still a huge fan of him, but his shtick is getting a bit stale now. I have a hard time telling most of his recent movie apart even. This one at least had an interesting and new setting for him and a memorable villain in James Franco. That is such an odd casting choice for a Jason Statham action movie villain you just can't help but love it. He did a great job too as he usually does. He was playing the kind of bad guy that you could easily see pop up on Justified or something, and i love that. Jason Statham was playing Jason Statham again. Only this time he wears a hat. I guess that's as much of a character change was can wish for when it comes to him.

But he still kicks a lot of ass so that's forgivable. And i thought the fight scenes in this film were good. It does have a little of that shaky can and quick cutting bullshit that i hate in modern action films, but they don't overdo it at least. And the fight scenes were pretty brutal as well. And there is even a fight scene between Statham and Franco. I never thought i would get to see that. I don't think i have to tell you who was dominating that fight though. As for the rest of the cast, they did fine as well. Kate Bosworth probably gave the best performance of her career so far here. I didn't even recognize her. Winona Ryder was also good, but her character was kind of pointless. Overall this was a decent action movie, but it's not gonna be regarded as a Statham classic in the future. This will probably be his The Specialist, Raw Deal or Nowhere to Run.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Captain Phillips review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:06 (A review of Captain Phillips)


"There's got to be something other than being a fisherman or kidnapping people."
"Maybe in America, Irish, maybe in America."


I have heard a lot of stuff about this movie not being as true to the real life events as it claims to be, and i can understand how that might bug some people, but if the movies i good i don't really care that much. It's not a documentary. What this is is one of the most intense movies i have seen in a very long time. From the second the pirates appear on screen i got hooked and the hours after that just flew by. I already knew the outcome of this story considering it was based on true events that i still remember seeing on the news, but i was literally sweating in some of the more suspenseful scenes. Tom Hanks gives one of the best performances of his already amazing career here. I am honestly baffled by the fact that he didn't get nominated for an Academy Award for this. This performance should have easily gotten the spot over Christian Bale in American Hustle. This has got to be one of the biggest Oscar snubs in recent history.

But at least they managed to give newcomer Barkhad Abdi a well deserved nomination. He really managed to hold his own here with one of our times best actor. He did the impossible and manages to make you sympathize with the pirates at times. I'm rooting for him at this year's Oscars, but they are way too predictable and boring to ever let him win i feel. At least he got a well deserved BAFTA award. The rest of the actor were also all great. There was not a weak link anywhere between them. Hell, i even thought Paul Greengrass did a great job as the director, and i usually really dislike his shaky directing style. Thankfully he didn't do too much of that here. Overall, this was one of the most heart-pounding thrillers i have seen in a long time and definitely worth checking out even if you already know the story. It had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Frozen review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:05 (A review of Frozen)


"Oh, look at that. I've been impaled."

I never really planned to watch this as i'm not really a huge fan of the Disney princess movies. Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty and all of those never really appealed to me as a kid and don't really do now either. But after hearing nothing but great things about this film since it's release i finally decided to give it a try. And i have to admit i kind of loved it. This was not the usual princess having to get rescued by a prince film. Not at all. This was both a clever and funny movie were the ladies actually get to do a lot of the action themselves and looked great doing so.

The animation was also beautiful. The snow and ice looked fantastic in this world. And i usually hate snow and ice in real life. The characters were also all very well written. I already mentioned that the two main princess characters are not your typical Disney princesses, but the rest of the cast are also a lot of fun. Olaf the snow man is especially funny. The only character i didn't like was the obvious bad guy that is supposed to be a twist near the end of the film. Of course he had to be a bad guy. You can't have two actually nice guys in a movie like this. But that is probably the only thing i didn't really like. Hell, i even loved the songs in this film. I usually am not a fan of musicals either, but here i didn't mind it. Overall, this is probably one of the best Disney movies i have seen in a while. It's also kind of fun to watch this movie when i actually live in a Norwegian town named Arendal.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dark Man of Steel

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 25 January 2014 08:13 (A review of Man of Steel)

[Link removed - login to see]" target="_blank">
"People are afraid of what they don't understand."

I have never been a huge Superman fan, but i thought this could be good based on the people who made it and the first trailer for it. I like Zack Snyder's directing style in movies like Watchmen and 300, and i thought it would fit well with a Superman movie. This however was just a boring mess of a movie. Okay, it had some good moments, but for the most of it i was either cringing at the terrible dialogue or bored by the uninspired action sequences. It was fun to see Superman fly tackle Zod the first time, but when it turns out that is all he is going to do the entire last third of the movie it get's very tedious very fast. I'm also pretty sure he killed thousand of people during the climax of this movie the way he kept smashing in to buildings and tearing them down. No way they were all evacuated in the little time it took from the attack of the city to the all out brawl the had in the middle of it. Could he not have grabbed Zod and flied him somewhere less populated? It seemed like he did and unnecessary huge amount of damage to the city.

Anyway, let's move on from that to the other thing i really didn't like about the film, the dialogue. It seemed like everything Johnathan Kent did was talk in monologues. You never get to know the character because every time he opens his mouth it's just to tell Clark how special he is and that he is going to change world and all that shit. We never see him have an actual conversation with anyone or just hang out with his son doing any normal father-son stuff. It's all about speeches with this guy. Same goes for most of Jor-El's screen time as well. I liked his character in the beginning of the movie. He was very preachy still, but at least he kicked some ass as well. But after he get's resurrected as a ghost or whatever it was it's back to saying the same mumbo jumbo all over again. I will admit i did like the scene where he helped out Lois Lane on the space ship though.

Speaking of Lois Lane, i really wish we had seen more of her because she was one of the few characters i liked in the movie. Maybe that was largely thanks to the fact that she was played by one of my favorite actresses, Amy Adams, but i thought that character had a lot of potential. She get's some very good scenes in the beginning of the movie, but near the end everything felt very rushed with her. I know she is Superman's girlfriend in the comics, but here it feels like their kiss just comes out of nowhere. They have had no romantic chemistry throughout this entire movie and now suddenly they are making out. In the middle of a destroyed city with probably thousands of dead and hurt people i might add. And what follows the kiss it also one of the most awkwardly forced jokes i have seen in a movie. Again, the city has just been destroyed and thousand of people are dead. What probably disappointed me the most about the movie was Michael Shannon was General Zod. I love Michael Shannon and was really happy to see him get a major bad guy role in a big budget super hero movie like this so he was definitely the biggest reason i decided to watch the movie. Sad to say, i felt he gave a very weak performance here. He just was so over the top sometimes i just could not take him seriously. Most of his scenes went from him talking very low to SCREAMING OUT LOUD! it was so ridicules to watch. He was just hamming it up too much.

And now i guess i should mention Henry Cavill as Superman as well. I have not said much about him yet because frankly there is not much to say about him. He was just very bland and forgettable. I guess it's not much you can do with a character like Superman, but even for that he was boring. This does not bode well for the upcoming Superman vs Batman movie, but i'm still looking forward to seeing what Ben Affleck will do with the Batman character. He has been very good lately, so maybe he can give Zack Snyder a few tips on how to make the movie better.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Good Day to Ruin a Franchise

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 25 January 2014 08:09 (A review of A Good Day to Die Hard)

[Link removed - login to see]" target="_blank">
"Need a hug?"
"We're not a hugging family."
"Damn straight!"


As a life long fan of the Die Hard series this was a crushing disappointment. This is the first Die Hard film i not only just didn't like, but i hated this film. It was awful from beginning to end and at no point felt like a Die Hard movie. Say what you will about Die Hard 4, at least Bruce Willis looked like he cared about the film and really brought out his John McClane character, here he just don't give a shit. And why should he with a horrible script like this. This movie is more focused on his son and his CIA work than John himself. He is the sidekick in his own movie. That is something that should never happen in a fucking Die Hard movie. This felt more like they rewrote a script last minute to add in John McClane and change the title of the film to Die Hard to make a few extra bucks without giving a shit about the fans of the series.

They also went ahead and hired one of the worst hack directors in Hollywood for the film. John Moore has never directed anything remotely good and he sure as hell didn't plan on changing that here. The guy who played Jack McClane did a fine job, but i hated the character. He was just so bland and whiny. He made me miss Justin Long! And i have to get back to John McClane again. He is my favorite movie character of all time so i just have to complain a little more about the butchering of the character in this film. John has always been an asshole, but he has always been a likable, funny and sarcastic asshole. Here they completely misunderstood the character and just made him an asshole. It's like they tried to make him as unlikable as humanly possible.

He also seems to be able to take even more punishment than ever before without getting a single scratch on him. It's not until the last few scenes of the film he actually looks really beat up. The rating of the movie is also a fucking lie. It's not an R rated movie, it's a PG-13 movie with a few extra cuss words ADR'd in. It's like they were shooting for a PG-13 movie and then realized that fans didn't like that the last time and thought that would help. It just made it worse because it's so obviously something that they decided last fucking minute. Another thing i have to talk about is the villains of the film. The Die Hard movie has always had iconic villains played by great actors, here we have bland villains played by terrible actors. They could not even get that right.

I was gonna give this a 2/10, but the more i think about it, the more i hate it and can't think of a single reason it deserves anything better than a 1/10. It's by far the WORST of the Die Hard movie by a mile. I'm never gonna consider this one of the Die Hard movies. I have a ton of copies of every single other Die Hard movie on everything from laser disc to VHS to Blu-Ray, but i will never buy this. If it comes in any future Die Hard box set i will buy i'm gonna trow it away. It does not deserve to stand next to the rest of the movies in this classic action movie franchise. I'm gonna stop rambling on about how awful this was now, but i'm sure i could have gone on forever. This was a piece of shit. And that's being generous.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 2 3 4 5Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block