Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (49)

Walk of Shame review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 5 May 2014 05:28 (A review of Walk Of Shame)

"Why the hell would KZLA's Meghan Miles be sucking dick for crack in our hood?"
"I'm not sucking dick for crack."
"Whatcha suckin' dick for then?"
"Nothing..."


I love Elizabeth Banks. She is one of my favorite comedic actresses in Hollywood right now. And she does not get nearly enough starring roles in movies so when she finally got one i just had to watch it. No mater how bad the reviews for it was. And i must say, it's better than what most people have been saying so far. Yeah, it's not a great film. Not at all. But i think Banks id charming and funny enough to carry the film herself and somewhat save the weak script. It does not hurt that she is wearing a sexy skintight dress for the majority of the movie either. The rest of the cast are also fine, but it's all just the same type of characters you always get in a movie like this. The nice and helpful drug dealers, mean cops, stereotypical Arab taxi driver and black female bus drive and so on. The only other character i did like besides Banks was Gillian Jacobs as her best friend. She is another great comedic actress. With a better script this could have been great, but it's still fine if you have nothing else to watch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Lego Movie review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 2 May 2014 03:23 (A review of The Lego Movie)

"Uh, guys? We're about to crash into the sun."
"Yeah, but it's gonna look really cool."


I remember thinking this was the worst idea ever when i first heard about it. A Lego movie? That is ridicules. But i have to admit, this is one of the funniest movies i have seen in a long, long time. They took something as dumb as a movie based on Lego, and made something really clever out of it. The story is actually really cool and all the characters are really hilarious. Chris Pratt has to be one of the funniest fresh faces in Hollywood. He has a great career ahead of him. The rest of the cast are also brilliant. Especially Morgan Freeman and Will Arnett. He has to be my favorite Batman ever. Just wait until you hear his song.

There are a ton of other great cameos from famous Lego figures that i won't spoil here. Will Ferrell does a great job as usual playing the over-the-top comedic villain. That has to be one of his specialties. The end of the movie was actually pretty emotional and took me by surprise. I did not see that coming. Overall, this is definitely my favorite movie of the year so far and i think with a few more views it could end up being one of my favorite animated movies. It's up there with the Toy Story movies and Wreck It Ralph as a perfect mix of childhood nostalgia and clever and funny writing that makes it such a great movie. Now i'm gonna have to go visit my mom it the hopes that she still has my old Lego set.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Joe review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 17 April 2014 12:55 (A review of Joe)

"What's your favorite color?"
"Red."
"Blow me."
"Alright."


I'm so happy David Gordon Green is back to making these smaller type indie films again. I loved Pineapple Express, but The Sitter and Your Highness were both pretty bad. But he's back to form again with last years highly underrated Prince Avalanche and now this film. I really hope this get's the attention it deserves at least because it's even better. Nicolas Cage gives us his best performance in many years here. It might be too early to say this yet, but he definitely deserves another Academy Award nomination for this one. Tye Sheridan, who was excellent in last years Mud, proves once again that he is gonna be a big star in the future. That kid has got some serious talent.

Gary Poulter, who play's Tye's abusive father in the movie, was probably my favorite performance of the film. He was actually a real homeless person that the crew just picked up from the streets and gave him a big role in this movie. He sadly passed away last year though and this was the only movie he ever did. He really was fantastic and gave such a real and raw performance that you would never get from big name actor in homeless make-up. It's a shame he's most likely wont get any recognition for his work here. The movie is just too small. As for the story of the movie, it was good, but without this great cast it would not have been anything special. It is the typical story of a boy from an abusive home that finds a new father figure that helps him out of there in the end. Nothing that has not been done many times before. But this movies is worth watching just for the amazing performances.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Super Mario Bros. review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 8 April 2014 05:20 (A review of Super Mario Bros.)

"Okay how many Marios are there between the two of you?"
"Three: Mario Mario and Luigi Mario."


This is the first time i have watched this movie since it destroyed my childhood innocence when i was 5. The only reason i decided to watch it again was because Rifftrax released a commentary for it, and it is one of their best in a long time. The movie however is about 100 times worse than i remembered. As a child the Super Mario games were some of my favorites. I would play them all the time and never get bored. Hell, i still play them all the time and never get bored. But back then Mario was my life. I remember owning Mario clothes, pajamas, wrist watch, shoes, hats, bath towels, etc. I watched the cartoon series and read the comic books. If something had the Mario name on it, i nagged my father until he caved in an bought it for me. So when i heard there was a live action movie based on the games i could not believe it. The day we finally rented the video tape of it was the happiest day of my life... until i saw it.

How can you possibly go this wrong when adapting a video game to a movie? It is amazing how far away from anything even remotely related to the games this movies managed to go. This movie was downright frightening to me as a child. I think this was made by Sega to scare kids away from the Mario games. There is no way anyone could have looked at this nightmare of a movie and thought it was okay to show it to children. Especially children who wanted to see the lively and colorful world of the Mushroom Kingdom on the big screen. No, here that is traded out with a dystopian mix of Total Recall and Robocop that even Paul Verhoeven would call too much. The Goombas and Koopa Troopas are traded in with hideous gigantic freaks with tiny heads. Yoshi is just a regular velociraptor ripped straight out of Jurassic Park.

Bowser, or King Koopa as he is called here, is just Dennis Hopper with a lizard tongue and a bad haircut. Mario and Luigi aren't even brothers. Luigi is Mario's adopted son or something. And Princess Peach is traded out with Princess Daisy, who is an archaeologist here, not a princess. And she is Luigi's love interest. Mario's love interest here is not Peach, but some random lady from Brooklyn. I am just listing of things that are wrong with the movie now and i could definitely go on forever doing that, but this movie is not really worth it. Mario should definitely stick to just video games.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Captain America: The Winter Soldier review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 5 April 2014 01:06 (A review of Captain America: The Winter Soldier )

"You do anything fun Saturday night?"
"Well, all the guys in my barbershop quartet are dead. So no, not really."


While i liked the first Captain America movie, it was not among my favorite of the Marvel films. I have never really felt the urge to actually watch it again. Captain America himself is also my least favorite of the Avengers group. So i was not really that excited for this sequel. But to my surprise i really enjoyed it. This was more of a spy thriller than a super hero movie and i really loved that. The usual set-up of big bad guy trying to take over the world so the hero of whatever movie it is has to stop them type of deal that every Marvel movie seems to run with is getting a bit stale. Sure, this also ultimately has that same story, but they mix it up enough here to make it fresh again.

This has by far the best story of any Marvel movie so far. It's like something out of a Bourne or Jack Ryan type of movie only starring Captain America instead. Chris Evans does a great job as usual with the character, but the stand out for me here was Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow. She has never kicked as much ass as she does in this film. They could have pretty much called the film Captain America and Black Widow. Cobie Smulders also shows potential here with a couple of cool scenes. Hopefully she will get to do more next time she appears in one of these films now that How I Met Your Mother is finally fucking done. The only disappointment when it came to the characters was the Winter Soldier himself. He did a lot of ass kicking, but that was all he did as well. He would just show up randomly in an action scene and then leave when it's over. Other than a few flashbacks an such we didn't really get to know the character a lot or how he came to be. At least i felt that way.

The action scenes however were fantastic. This is probably the first Marvel movie that has really great hand to hand fight scenes. Hell, it might even be the first super hero movie in general with that. Usually they just spend all their time and budget on the big special effects and whatnot, and the fight scenes get the short stick. Just a lot of shaky cam and quick cuts to hide it. But here they really made them look good. As for the stuff i didn't like it the film, i can't think of much. It did drag on at times and the plot twist main villain was pretty obvious from the start, but that's about it. Overall a really solid super hero movie that breaks the mold a bit. And that is very refreshing to see in an age where they pump out 5-6 of these a year.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Veronica Mars review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 14 March 2014 02:09 (A review of Veronica Mars)

"So, are you gonna ask if i did it?"
"I wouldn't be here if i thought you did."


I never thought this day would come. The day where i actually got to see a Veronica Mars movie. That was just never gonna happen and i had accepted that. But here it is. Here it actually is. The movie sequel to one of the shows that defined my teenage years. When i first heard they were doing a kickstarter for this movie i just assumed it was some cruel Funny or Die joke or something. But when it turned out to be the real thing i just knew i had to support it.

This was one of my favorite shows as a teenager, and still is. A lot of the stuff i watched back then does not hold up anymore, but Veronica Mars definitely does. The first two seasons at least. The third season was not that great and that made me worry a little about this movie. I was also afraid that after all these years they might have lost the magic touch they once had, and that the actors would not be able to reembody their characters. Rob Thomas had also never directed a movie before so that scared me. Basically, there was a lot that could have gone wrong with this movie, but they fucking nailed it. I absolutely loved this film.

Veronica Mars is back and she is just as great as ever. All of the old charm and wit of the character and show is still there. This is the role Kristen Bell was born to play, and she does so effortlessly. All the other actors got right back in to character perfectly as well. Why Jason Dohring is not a bigger star by now i will never understand. That guy is such a great actor and the fact that he makes you love a guy like Logan is just further proof of that. He deserves so much more than just doing guest roles on random TV-shows now. Hopefully this movie can gain him some more buzz now.

But back to the movie. I really loved the idea of Veronica Mars leaving Neptune after the show ended so many years ago only to be dragged back by Logan once again. They managed to create a great and interesting murder mystery that kept me guessing throughout the movie. Even if the eventual reveal did feel like a bit of a cop out. That is probably the one thing i didn't like about the film. They didn't fully stick the landing. One thing i really liked about the movie though was how little we actually saw of Piz because Piz is the worst. Nobody liked him and i think Rob Thomas knew that considering what happens during this movie. He was just such a boring character on the show. Always the nice guy with not a bad bone in his body. It's like they wanted someone polar opposite of Logan for Veronica to end up with during the third season and it just didn't work out at all.

But enough ranting about a 10 year old show's love story. Back to the movie. Keith Mars, my favorite character from the show aside from Veronica, is also back and is as great as ever. Enrico Colantoni can do no wrong. I do wish he was in the movie more, but i understand why he wasn't. There is only sow much you can fit into a movie compared to a TV-show. Besides, the story didn't really call for much of Keith. But the scene he had were all great. This movie had a lot of great cameos from classic Veronica Mars character as well and i won't spoil them here because it was a lot of really fun surprises. There was one guy that was noticeably missing though. But it didn't really make sense for him to return anyway.

Rob Thomas really did a fantastic job here. Especially considering this is the first movie he ever directed. I'm not sure how much someone who has never watched the show before will enjoy this movie, but as a fan i loved it. It was everything i wanted a return to the world of Veronica Mars to be. A funny, yet suspenseful movie that will make any former fan of the show happy. This is already a contender for my favorite movie of 2014.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 13 March 2014 12:14 (A review of Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues)

"What are you, Finnish?"
"Oddly enough I'm full blown 100% Mexican. Straight out of the state of Oaxaca."
"No, you're not, Ron!"


Anchorman is one of my all time favorite comedies.It is one of those movies i can watch over and over again and never get tired of. But i never really felt it needed a sequel. It was a great stand alone movie, so when i heard they were actually making a sequel to it i didn't really get my hopes up. First of all, comedy sequels almost never work. I'm sure i can count the number of comedy sequels that are as good as the original on one hand. So i was actually very hesitant to see this as i didn't want the good memories of the original soiled by a bad sequel. That is what happened to the first Hangover movie for me. I loved that when it came out, but the awful sequels have made my love for it seriously diminish. But enough stalling, let's get to the review.

As expected, this was far from as good at the first one. It's not an awful movie though. It still has a lot of big laughs in there. Especially from the scenes where the four leads are just ad libbing with each other. I could watch an entire movie of just that. I also liked the story of the gang joining the first 24 hour news station. I just wished they had done more with that idea. A lot of it just seemed to do the same jokes from the first film just this time with a black lady instead of Veronica. She was just really bad. And speaking of bad, the kid that plays Ron's son for instance is just awful. He is so bad i wonder if it was intentional or not. Maybe he was just one of the producers kids or something. I don't like to talk bad about child actors, but that was some of the worst i have seen.

They also tried to cram in as many celebrity cameos as the could here it seems. Especially during an unnecessary rehash of the classic anchorman battle scene from the first one. Now i remember not liking the first Anchorman very much either the first time i saw it so maybe this one just need a few more viewings as well, but for right now it's just an okay movie. Just another comedy sequel that did not live up to the original.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Whoop Dreams review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 9 March 2014 06:01 (A review of Whoop Dreams)

"Worst case scenario: We get murdered. Best case scenario: Ben gets married and have a baby."

I'm a huge fan of the Filmdrunk website and it's podcast called the Frotcast. And one of the things they frequently talk about is are the Insane Clown Posse and it's Juggalo fan base. Those are usually some of the funniest moments of the podcast as well. So when i heard they were doing a kickstarted project for a documentary about the Gathering of the Juggalos i knew i had to contribute. And i'm glad i did because this was some pretty funny stuff. All the main Frotcast members are in the movie and they are just as hilarious together on film as they are on the podcast. I really can't think of a better group of people to send into Juggalo territory. That place looked so fucking terrifying. That is definitely one place i'm never going. All the people there looks like they are constantly on something. Alcohol, drugs, or mostly both. There is especially one guy in the documentary who does something with his nipples that i wont spoil here, but it made me never want to do drugs again.

This was a fascinating look into The Gathering of the Juggalos, and most of the interviews in the documentary are interesting, but i wish they had gotten a little more of it. It's just a 40 minute long movie, but they sill had to pad the movie out with a lot of nice, but overly long montages of random stuff they got on camera. I feel like it would have been better to get the crew's reaction to a lot of this stuff would have been a lot better than just having it all in montages. They should have also tried to get an interview with some of the performers there. I get that they couldn't get one with the biggest acts there like ICP themselves or even Vanilla Ice, but i'm sure there are a lot of smaller artists and bands there they could have tried to talk to. Would have been fun to hear what it is to be on stage at a place like that. But overall it's still a very funny and even interesting documentary that i would definitely recommend to people. But next time i just want to watch an entire road trip movie with the Frotcast guys. I would pay a lot for that.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Wolf of Wall Street review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:30 (A review of The Wolf of Wall Street)


"My name is Jordan Belfort. The year I turned 26, I made 49 million dollars, which really pissed me off because it was three shy of a million a week."

Martin Scorsese has done it again. Another fucking classic. This man really can do no wrong. This movie had me hooked from the opening. Leonardo DiCaprio plays such a slimy asshole here, but you just can't help but root for him. He is a total scumbag and i loved every second of it. This is by far DiCaprio's best performance so far. He really gave this role everything he had. If 12 Years a Slave had not come out the same year, i definitely think this is the one DiCaprio finally should have won his Oscar for. Who knows, maybe he still will, but the Oscars are usually so predictable so i doubt it.

Jonah Hill also gave the best performance of his career and shows that his Oscar nod for Moneyball was not a fluke. He really does have acting chops beyond Superbad. I'm pretty sure he's getting another nod as well. Pretty much the entire cast was great here though. But really, it all comes down to Scorsese's brilliant directing. He is truly a master. I was a little disappointed with his last film, Hugo, but god dammit he brought his A-game back here. The movie goes from a great drama to a hilarious comedy flawlessly. There is especially one scene that includes a shot of cocaine and the Popeye spinach eating theme that had me in tears. By far the funniest scene of any movie in years. This is by far my favorite movie of 2013 and i can't wait to watch it again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

White House Down review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 6 March 2014 05:28 (A review of White House Down)


"I lost the rocket launcher."
"You lost... How do you lose a rocket launcher?!"


Now this was a fun Die Hard in the White House movie. While Olympus Has Fallen took itself way too seriously, had awful action scenes and the most boring leading man in action since Steven Seagal, this movie knew how to have fun with this concept, knew how to make great action sequences and had two very charismatic actors in the lead roles. I used to be very dismissive of Channing Tatum, but i have really grown to love the guys in the last few years. He has definitely left his Step Up days behind him. Jamie Foxx was also great as usual, even if he is way too young to convincingly play a president. The rest of the cast were also great. Especially the bad guys. That's another place this movie really kicked Olympus Has Fallen's ass.

I can't even remember who the bad guys were in that film now, and it's only been a few months since i saw it. Here we have James Woods leading a great team of other character actors like Jason Clarke, Jimmi Simpson and Kevin Rankin. And they are all having a blast playing these over the top bad guys. The only thing i didn't like about this film was that it was way too long at way over 2 hours. You get a little exhausted by the end. As fun as the characters are here they don't hold up to the classics from Die Hard or Lethal Weapon where you never want the movie to end. Here the could have easily cut a good half hour from it. Especially for the beginning of the film. It takes way too long before the action starts in this action movie. But it's still the best pure action movie from 2013 that i have seen.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block