Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (49)

Interstellar review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:06 (A review of Interstellar)

"We used to look up at the sky and wonder at our place in the stars, now we just look down and worry about our place in the dirt."

This was one of my most anticipated movies of the year. Christopher Nolan has usually always given us great movie. The Dark Knight Rises was a mess though, but name one director that has a flawless filmography. So i was very excited to see him go back to doing an original project again now that his Batman trilogy was over. And while this was not as great as i had hoped, it was still a lot better than his last movie. The first two thirds of the movie are absolutely excellent, and i was ready to give this a 10/10, but that last act was just a little too much for me. In this already fantastical and pretty out there movie, he still managed to take it too far. I'm not gonna spoil anything, but it felt like a clusterfuck of a cop out that lasted for way, way too long. If this movie had ended just half an hour or so earlier it would have been close to perfect. It had a scenes that dragged on a bit much and some ridicules technobabble before that as well, but that was forgivable for the most part. That ending was not. But enough harping on that for now.

The acting in the movie was all around stellar. Matthew McConaughey gives a good performance, but he doesn't really get all that much to do. Sure, he has a few good crying scenes, but that is about all the acting he get's to show off. This is not gonna win him any more awards. The same goes for Anne Hathaway and Jessica Chastain as well. The rest of the cast are not in it all that much, but no one gives a bad performance. Not even Topher Grace. There is one other big actor that shows up at one point that i'm not gonna reveal because i don't think they want that out considering he is in none of the promotional material so it was a very fun surprise when he showed up.

The effects of the movie was fantastic. That was definitely the best thing the movie had going for it. It managed to immerse you without any use of gimmicky 3D. Just the visuals alone did it and it looked so much better than 3D movies does because of it. I hope this movie helps directors and studios realize once again that 3D is a useless gimmick that should just be used in cheesy horror movies and animated kids movies. So overall this movie is definitely worth checking out, especially on the big screen. Just don't expect the next 2001 and don't try to groan too hard at the ending. I will probably turn it off before that once i check it out again on blu-ray.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

RoboCop review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:06 (A review of RoboCop)

"Alex, we need to work together here. Because I'm the only one with the technology to keep you alive."
"Dead or alive, you're coming with me."


It's been a very long time since i last saw the original Robocop, so i wanted to watch that again before i checked out this remake, but i had some other friends that wanted to watch this today so i joined them. From what i remember the original Robocop was a very brutal action movie. There are scenes in that movie that could fit right in to the worst of horror movies, so why did they decide to go with a PG-13 rating for the remake? That made no sense. Just that let's you know this was purely made to create a new franchise the producers could cash in on, and not because of quality. This movie has the same problems as another PG-13 remake of a classic R-rated Paul Verhoeven movie, Total Recall. It's all toned down and looks way too clean and stylish. Gone is the grit and the biting satire that made those movies so great. The action sequences are also really boring. There are guns blazing everywhere, but nothing really all that exciting ever happens in them. It's all stuff that has been done better before in a million other action movies. These movies are just incredibly bland and will soon be forgotten while the originals will live on forever. I seriously can hardly remember a single thing from the Total Recall remake, and i'm sure it will be the same with this one. But the movie is not all bad. If it's one thing it got right it was casting. The cast is great. Michael Keaton, Gary Oldman, Jackie Earle Haley, and especially a very scenery chewing Samuel L. Jackson makes this movie somewhat worth watching. They have all been better before in other movies, but if you absolutely want to watch this one, they make it easier to sit through.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Guest review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:05 (A review of The Guest)

"You did the right thing. I don't blame you."

I knew nothing about this movie before watching it. I had heard someone describe it as Halloween meets Drive and that was enough to get me to watch it. That description was pretty damn spot on as well. It starts up with a man visiting a family by claiming he is the army buddy of their dead son. From the very beginning you can sense that there is something very wrong about this man, but the family seems clueless to it. It's a very suspenseful thriller that kept me on he edge of my seat for the majority of it. The music is also very good and helps build the mood of the movie very well. The only fault in the movie was the ending. It got a little too over the top all of sudden in the third act. There is a Halloween maze at the local rec center in this small town that seems to have the budget of Universal Studios that seems especially out of place. The acting in the movie were all good. No one were especially stand out, but for a cast of all pretty much unknowns it was good. Dan Stevens, who played the main guy, seemed like a mix between Ryan Gosling and Matthew Goode. He was pretty good. But this is a movie worth watching for the very suspenseful story, even if it does not completely stick the landing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

St. Vincent review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:05 (A review of St. Vincent)

"She's a lady of the night."
"What?! Do you know what that means?"
"She works at night?"


I love Bill Murray, but this didn't really look all that great. It is the same tired and cliched story of an old cranky person and a small child becoming best friends while doing things that are usually considered inappropriate for children. That story has been told a million times before, and they don't change it up much here, but Bill Murray still manages to pull of one of his best performances to date anyway. He really saved this movie and actually made the movie great. At first he seems to just be playing the same Bill Murray character he always plays, but as the movie goes along you see there is actually much more to the character and in the third act something happens that really makes Bill stretch his acting abilities more than i have seen before.

The rest of the cast are also all good. Melissa McCarthy downplayed her persona a lot and actually showed that she could be more than the female Chris Farley. And Naomi Watts was actually pretty unrecognizable here. She has a spot on Russian accent and wears a lot of make-up so i didn't really notice that it was her until the last third of the movie. I didn't read the cast list before watching it so i didn't know Naomi Watts was gonna be in it so i actually thought this was a real Russian person that had gotten for the part. The only person i didn't like was the kid that played the main bully turned best friend. He was overacting quite a bit. But this is definitely a movie worth watching even if the story sounds really boring and overdone by now. Especially if you are a Bill Murray fan. I would not be surprised if he snagged an Oscar nomination for it. Or at least a Golden Globe.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wish I Was Here review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:04 (A review of Wish I Was Here)

"If I die, I'm going to be so pissed at you."

This was another movie about a depressed man in his 30's dealing with death. After the incredibly boring This Is Where I Leave You, that scared me a little bit in the beginning. But thankfully this movie is saved by actually having some funny moments and a couple of great child actors. Joey King, who has impressed me several times already in her short career, does it again. She is definitely on the road to stardom. Zach Braff is just playing the same guy he did in Garden State all over again. And that's not even a stretch. He is the same depressed guy with daddy issues and a failed acting career. Yeah, he even has the same profession as his character from Garden State. The only thing different is the name. Way to be original there, Zack. Overall, this was nothing special. It certainly wasn't worthy of all the money it made on Kickstarter. But it had some funny moments and Joey King gave probably her best performance yet, so it's worth watching if there is nothing else to watch. It certainly was better that This Is Where I Leave You at least.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

This Is Where I Leave You review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 20 November 2014 10:03 (A review of This Is Where I Leave You)

"Sometimes I think you're too good for me."
"Don't be silly, I'm definitely too good for you."


I was actually really looking forward to this movie. The cast is great and the director has done some good movies in the past as well. Unfortunately this was not one of them. This was just really boring. It was the same old story that has been done a million time before. A dysfunctional that has not talked to each other in a long time get's back together again for the funeral of a parent and starts out arguing all the time, but in the end find out they all love each other after all and all that shit. It's so boring and cliched. Maybe if they had done it in an original way and had some clever and funny jokes in there i could have forgiven it, but no. This is as dull and forgettable as you can get it. The only good thing about the movie was the actors. They all did good jobs with what they got. Timothy Olyphant was sadly not in it as much as i would have hoped though. He was definitely the most interesting character in the movie, but they do absolutely nothing with him or his sad background. A movie about his character could have been good, but no, we get to follow Jason Bateman, who i usually love, play the same boring depressed guy that is the lead of all these type of movies. This was a huge disappointment and probably not a movie i will remember for very long.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles review

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 25 October 2014 09:27 (A review of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles)

"You want some of this? I'm a snapping turtle fool! Snap, snap, snap!"

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was probably the first fandom i joined as a kid. I absolutely loved them. I watched the cartoon and the first two movies over and over again. Even as a kid i knew the third one sucked. I also had them on my clothes, shoes, wrist watch, lunch boxes, and everything else they could plaster their logo on. And don't get me started on the toys. I must have had almost all of them and one of the biggest regrets of my life is trowing them out when i felt i was too old for them. They are worth a lot of money these days. But anyway, yeah, i was a huge fan. But i have not been keeping up with them since then. I have not watched any of the TV shows that came out after the classic 80's one or anything like that. I watched the 2007 TMNT movie, and liked that one quite a bit, but that's about it.

So i can't really say i was all that excited about this movie. I still love the first two movies though and watch them on a regular basis, and the theme song from the classic cartoon is on my iPod. But the newer stuff don't really appeal to me. But hey, it looked like a fun movie and a nostalgia trip so i decided to check it out. And i just have to say right off the bad, if i had seen this movie 20 years ago, it would have been the greatest experience of my life. Now though, it was a fun, but pretty forgettable movie. They have changed the origin story of the turtles a lot in this movie from what i remember as a kid. Now the turtles were April O'Neil's childhood pets and Splinter learnt ninjitsu from a book. That was a little dumb and a little too convenient. I liked the old story much better, but then again this is a movie about teenage mutant ninja turtles, so i guess complaining about the story is kind of redundant. The turtles are also giant, hulking beasts this time around. I think they went a little overboard on their designs his time around. They are not gonna be able to put on trench coats to blend in now.

I also went in to this movie not knowing who was voicing the turtles, but i instantly recognized Johnny Knoxville as Leonardo and it did not work at all. That was just awful casting. I like him on Jackass, but never in a million years an i gonna buy him as the gruff and tough leader of this team. He would have fit better as Michelangelo. What i think is odd is that when i looked on Imdb after the movie was that all the other turtles were voiced by the same people that did their mo-cap work. Why would they re-cast just one of the voices with a C-list celebrity and not the others? Especially considering all the other ones did better work than Knoxville as well. But anyway, let's talk about what was actually good about the movie, the action.

Previously the movies have been pretty limited in their fight scenes thanks to the turtles being me in giant turtles suits, but here they could go all out with the CG. This is one of the very few time i think CG worked better than practical affects. But that is just because of the action sequences. The turtles still looked pretty fake next to real people. The action is really good here and you can actually see whats going on unlike Michael Bay's other reboot of a classic 80's franchise Transformers. Thank god he just produced this one and didn't direct. The action sequences are very fun here, especially one that takes place on a mountain, and i'm sure any kid who is a TMNT fan these days are gonna love the movie for them. This was far from as bad as some people are saying. It's a turtle movie for this generation, and us older fans should stick with the movies from our generation.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For review

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 25 October 2014 09:27 (A review of Sin City: A Dame to Kill For)

"You'd be smart to kill me now."

I love the first Sin City movie. It is one of my all time favorites. I have watched it countless times and it never get's boring. So i have been waiting for a sequel for a long, long time now. There are so many great stories that could be told in a city like this. It's just a shame they didn't choose them for this one. This was just really boring. The stories were far from as interesting and neither were the characters. Sure, most of the ones from the first one return, but they somehow don't feel like the old ones. Marv does not have his own story in this one. He just randomly appears in everyone else stories. Mickey Rourke also seems so bored and tired this time around compared to the last one. He was tough and brutal in that one, here he is more of a goofy sidekick to everyone else.

Bruce Willis also returns for a few seconds here and there as the ghost of Hartigan. What a waste that was. And that's one thing that confused me. Both of those characters dies in the last one, and yet only one of them returns? Did Marv somehow survive the electric chair and the get released? And this movie also has Josh Brolin in it playing a pre-surgery Dwight. So that story would have to take place before the events of the first movie and yet it ties in with the revenge plot for Hartigans death. That made no sense. Jessica Alba is also cringe worthy in this movie. I knew she was a bad actress, but this one tops it all. Watching her trying to act drunk or badass was some of the worst acting i have ever seen in a major Hollywood movie. How she keeps getting work i will never understand. The only good parts of this movie was the two new main characters. Eva Green as Ava and Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Johnny.

Eva Green, who spends most of the movie pretty much naked, knew exactly what kind of pulpy trash this was supposed to be and gave her performance the perfect amount of sex appeal and cheesiness that it needed. And Joseph Gordon-Levitt has never looked this cool before. Some other of the new cast really disappointed me though. Ray Liotta, who i was really looking forward to seeing in this, has just one minor throwaway scene that could have been played by anyone. He is so perfect for this franchise and they waste him on nothing. And Christopher Lloyd, who at least got a little bit more to do, also felt like a waste. His character was great for what little he was in the movie though. This movie is one of my biggest disappointments ever. They had almost 10 years to make this sequel, and this was the best they could come up with? Robert Rodriguez really has lost his touch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

X-Men: Days of Future Past review

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 25 October 2014 09:26 (A review of X-Men: Days of Future Past)

"All those years wasted fighting each other, Charles... but at least we got a few of them back."

I'm so happy this franchise is back to being great again after The Last Stand and Origins made me lose all faith in it. But i must admit i was a little worried when i hear Bryan Singer would come back to direct this one. Sure, he made a couple of great ones in the past, but he hasn't really made a good movie since X-Men 2. I was afraid he had lost his magic touch, but i'm happy to report he is back and he is as good as he ever was. This is definitely one of the best X-Men movies so far. The actors were all at the top of their game and the action was fantastic. Jennifer Lawrence, who i must admit i think is a little overrated, (really? An Academy Award nomination for American Hustle?) was given a lot more to do this time around, and she really made the character her own this time around. She was definitely my favorite in the movie and gave one of the best performances of her career.

But the rest of the returning cast were also all as good as always. Hugh Jackman pretty much is Wolverine these days so this was just a walk in the park for him. Of the new people Evan Peters as Quicksilver was definitely the stand out character. It's just a shame he's in the movie so little. He is pretty much gone from the movie after his big prison break scene. Peter Dinklage was also a great as always in the movie. I love it that he is getting more and more roles in big movies these days that's don't just focus on his size. I don't even think they mention that once in this movie. He is proof that you can cast little people as real people instead of just magical elves and dwarfs in fairy tale movies.

But like i said, it's not just the acting that is great in this movie, the action is incredible as well. This movie has some of the best action sequences in the franchise so far. The Sentinels are probably the toughest enemy the X-Men has ever faced and that really shows here. I'm not gonna say anything about the plot because i don't want to spoil anything, but it's definitely the most interesting one of the movies so far. But i won't say it's the best. X-Men two still holds that title. And i liked First Class a little better as well, but this is definitely worth checking out for any X-Men fan.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gone Girl review

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 4 October 2014 02:24 (A review of Gone Girl)

"I will practice believing my husband loves me but I could be wrong."

David Fincher is my favorite director at the moment so this was probably my most anticipated movie of the year. But i had not watched any trailers for it or read the synopsis or anything like that. Knowing Fincher's previous work, the best thing to do is to go in blank. And that was as true for this film as any other of his movies. As the movie starts it feels like a pretty generic "who done it" type of thriller. Ben Affleck comes home to find his wife missing and possibly murdered in their home. And of course he becomes the prime suspect and has to clear his name.

It's not something i would expect from a master class director like Fincher, but i was sure he could make it work. But at one point in the movie something happens that made my jaw hit the flow and really kicked this movie in to high gear. I was thinking the movie had kind of a slow start, but i see now that it was all part of this set up. I don't want to talk any more about it for fear of spoiling anything, but damn. This is a lesson to never take Fincher for granted. And as always with a Fincher movie, the acting is flawless. Ben Affleck, who is also a fantastic director, has never really impressed me much with his acting skills before. He was good in the two movies he has directed himself in, The Town and Argo, but apart from that he has never stood out to me as a great actor.

That all changed with this movie. This is by far his best performance to date. It's a very quiet and subtle performance most of the time, but you can always sense his anger and know that he can blow up at any moment. Rosamund Pike however was the MVP of the movie. Holy hell she was fantastic. If she does not at least get an Oscar nomination for this i will lose even more faith in the academy. The supporting cast are also all great. Even Tyler Perry and Neil Patrick Harris were great. Now i know Neil is supposedly a great actor on stage, but this is the first time he has gotten to show it on film i feel. Tyler Perry however i would never think i would see a good performance from. Madea himself.

But like i have said many times, never doubt Fincher. This really is my favorite movie of the year so far and will definitely stick with me for a long time. This is probably Fincher's best movies since Zodiac as well. He is back on top with this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block